Second oral history session with inventor of a Chinese typewriter

May 16, 2009

I’ve just returned from my second oral history session with the inventor first mentioned in my March post. Our rapport is developing nicely, as evidenced by his willingness to show me more private documents from his old company, and to allow me to tour the facilities. I was also able to present him with documents from the archive, which he was delighted (and somewhat surprised) to see. “How did you find these?” he asked, in a tone mixed with joy (at seeing documents from many decades ago) and shock (that a junior scholar could find them, I suppose). That felt good, and also prompted more in-depth discussion.

Leave a Reply

